Paul and Weaknesses

Our Thursday night group has been doing a study on 2 Corinthians: “All Things New” BY: Kelly Minter.  I have absolutely LOVED reading and learning about Paul and these stubborn corinthians!  haha  Paul keeps pushing through and trudging along (my words) hoping that eventually he will get through these people’s hard heads what they should be doing.  For the record, this is totally my interpretation of the Corinthians and often times how I am.  (insert embarrassed GIF text here :P)

C8681C30-F633-498D-B457-51CA32538A57

We are in the last session of the study and I am SO sad because I have absolutely loved it!  There are SO many points that hit home and have spoken to me!

Here is a picture of my pages…every page that’s folded over had something that stuck out to me…you should see the underlines and stars and squares and notes!

 

 

If I were Paul, I would’ve given up somewhere in the middle of Chapter 1 of FIRST Corinthians; reminder-we’re going through 2 Corinthians.  haha

Here is what Kelly Minter writes in the part I read this morning:

Christ reigned by God’s power and He was crucified in weakness.  In the same way, Paul had several areas of weakness in his life, yet God’s power was extraordinarily strong in Him.

And then the “personal reflection” spot next asked this question:

Have you ever considered that your weaknesses could actually be proof of Christ’s hand on your life, because in those areas He wants to show Himself strong?  Explain.

I know I’ve written about His power in my weakness (here) but today I thought about it again.  Paul was just like you and I.  Paul was human.  He had frustrations.  He had anger.  He was weak.

In 2 Corinthians he says “But he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

It really makes me think.  What areas has He given me His power and I am supposed to be using it?  Where and how am I supposed to be using it?  What am I supposed to be doing with it?  We all know that I’m plenty weak in plenty of areas, so now I just need to figure out the how’s, why’s, where’s and who’s.

Summer has had me going about 100 different directions every five minutes it seems but like I wrote last week or the week before, I need to just take a minute to slow down, breathe, and just be so I can figure these things out.

It’s really overwhelming to me to think about adding anything else to my plate if He leads me to it, but I pray that if things are added, then the things that are not for His glory are taken away.  Maybe the things I’m “strong” at are taken away and the areas I’m “weak” in will be highlighted and brought forward.  I don’t know.  We shall see.  Just a few thoughts on weakness and being made strong BY Him and FOR Him.

Where are your weaknesses?  Where can God use you?  Who is God wanting you to be?  How can He get the glory in Your weakness?

“His greatest display of power in our lives is in our places of loneliness, battles with infirmities, and painful losses. ” Kelly Minter

You know, all He really wants is to use the least of us to show the best of Him.

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

