10 Ways That I’m “Perfect”

The last few days have been actually pretty perfect. We were away over the weekend so the suitcases are unpacked and put away, the laundry is all done, folded and put away, and the family is happy after a fun time at the waterpark hotel. Oh wait, the suitcases aren’t unpacked and the laundry WAS all put away but for some reason that laundry pile comes back – every day. 😛

So I know these days there are blog posts and instagram posts and snapchats and twitter (what’s Twitter again? I am too old for that one and don’t understand how it works) posts about not being the perfect mom and not comparing yourself to everyone else. Well guess what? I caught myself doing this the other day and constantly have to make a conscious effort not to. It’s hard. So today, I thought I’d share all of the ways that I am perfect just so all of you other moms know that you’re perfect too. 🙂

1. I’m perfect at not making perfect meals. Shoot on any given day if you ask me what we’re having for supper you’ll get a “I have no idea or that’s a great question”.  Yeah, my meal planning idea/board worked for a few weeks, and it was great while it worked, but it takes time and effort. Who knew? I’m thankful I have the funds and abilities to make/buy meals and a family to make them for.

2. I’m perfect at letting our, most of the time clean, laundry pile up for a few weeks and folding it when it bothers me too much to look at any longer. Putting it away is another story. I’m thankful I have a family to make dirty clothes.

3. I’m perfect at letting the house get a little out of hand then cleaning like a mad woman at the last possible moment before someone comes over or like I said earlier, when it frustrates me too much so I have to do it. I’m thankful for friends and family who give me grace when they come over and see the dust on the end tables and crumbs on the kitchen counter and floor.

4. I’m perfect at falling asleep at 8:30 while watching TV with the hubs. (He probably doesn’t appreciate this though.) I’m thankful that he will let allow me to do this and doesn’t “make” me do other things that are previously mentioned in this list instead. 😛

5. I’m perfect at neglecting my friends and not responding to text messages for days or sometimes even weeks after I get a message. I’m sorry for those of you who on the receiving end of delayed text messages. It’s the new cool thing to do, didn’t you know?  (just kidding…kind of)  I’m thankful that you have grace for me and that I can still call you friend.

6. I’m perfect at sometimes getting frustrated with my family after a long day when we’re all tired and a little short with each other. I feel so bad when I wrongfully take out my frustrations and exhaustion on my family. We are in this thing called life together and for that I am thankful.

7. I’m perfect at not making plans until the very last minute because I just don’t know.  I don’t know how I’ll be feeling, how tired I’ll be, if there’s anything else going on, etc.  I’m thankful for those of you who can relate to being a non-planner and again, have grace for me when I can’t commit.

8. I’m perfect at being inconsistent, forgetful, and sometimes just inconsiderate.  I’m inconsistent at being human.  I’m forgetful and I’m pretty sure I’d forget my face if it weren’t attached sometimes, and inconsiderate because sometimes I just don’t feel like talking.  Is that bad?  I’m sorry if I’ve seemed short or snotty.  Adjusting to two kids, my lack of sleep and just plain being an introvert makes me rudely quiet sometimes.  Again, I’m thankful for grace.

9. I’m perfect at thinking I’m failing.  I’m sure I’m not but come on.  What mom doesn’t think she’s failing?  Those negative thoughts can so easily take captive the minds us moms who are tired and doing a fabulous job.  I’m thankful for the encouragement that I receive from other moms and the teachers and friends to remind me that I’m not failing.  (And for those of you reading this; you’re not failing either.)

10. I’m perfectly imperfect.  And that’s OK.

The best part about being perfectly imperfect?  Being loved by a perfect God.  I can do nothing to get my God to stop loving me.  I have nothing to do to get Him to love me more.  He loves me unconditionally, no matter what.  You know what?  He loves YOU just the same.

Ephesians 3:17-19 “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge— that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

 

perfectly-2

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

