New Every Morning

Had I written this yesterday it would’ve been titled “Rough Start”. Yesterday morning was one of those mornings where nothing went right and nothing was going to go right all day. It started out with arguing and frustration in the middle of the night, a very tired little girl, a baby boy that was up for about two hours in the middle of the night, and a tired and crabby momma. Daddy was off and out the door early for work and tired too from being up for several hours with the wee one.

There were tears because the right outfit wasn’t clean and her hair wasn’t pretty and she wanted a headband but she didn’t know where one was. There were unkind words from this momma.  Probably from being up what seemed like half the night and running late and out of just pure frustration. (Thankfully little man was chill and happy during all of this!)

I left for work with a little girl who was crying and a heavy heart because of my actions. I was in a hurry and didn’t have time for the drama caused by such, what seemed to me, unnecessary things.

All day I couldn’t help but wonder how Little Miss’ day was going. Thankfully daycare text and said she had a smile on her face when she walked out the door for the bus, but still, I was crabby and short and probably downright rude to my little sweetie. I even said at 7:16 as we turned the corner to GO TO daycare that I should be leaving daycare at this time, not just getting there. For a little girl who is sensitive like her momma, I was sure those words stuck with her and made her think it was her fault all day.

I got home from work and she was very excited about her day. She knew over 100 of her sight words when she read them to her teacher, her sentences were written so nicely on her worksheet that the teacher kept it to hang up, and she was being an artist and drawing a picture at the dining room table. The events of the morning hadn’t seemed to phase her.

I still needed to make it right.

I knelt down, kissed her cheek, and looked her in the eyes. “I’m sorry for the way I acted this morning and the not nice words I used. Mommy was short and crabby and didn’t speak nicely to you this morning. I love you and love being your mommy.  I’m sorry.” followed by another kiss on the cheek and forehead. “OK, mommy. I love you too” and away she went.

Last evening we wrapped a few presents and snuggled on the couch, said bedtime prayers and went on with our regular routine, like nothing even happened.

This morning went MUCH more smoothly and she came up from her bedroom with a big smile on her face and said she wasn’t tired and that she slept good. Praise God! 😉 She got dressed quickly and ate her breakfast all gone, hung out with me while I got myself and little man ready and talked my ear off about her new boots and how she gets hot after PE class at school and how she’s going to give her picture to her teacher today.

On my way to work there was an absolutely beautiful sunrise with colors painted so vibrantly across the sky. With almost record low temps this morning and the heat blowing full blast, I kept hearing above it all “His mercies are new every morning”.

His mercies are new every morning.

Just like little miss had completely forgotten the day before and moved on, the Lord has mercy on us too. I’m so thankful for that.  I could envision Him kneeling down and getting face to face with me and telling me, “it’s ok that you were short and upset.  She has grace for those moments just like I do.”

What are you facing right now? What area do you need mercy? Remember in this season that His mercies are new every morning. Approach Him with grace and confidence and allow His mercies to shine on you.

16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.  Hebrews 4:16

15502700_10101925140132532_1469670811_o-2
Before bed I sat down and read this devotion…I thought ‘how appropriate for the day.’

 

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

