With Utmost Respect

This weekend we laid to rest my step grandpa. Not only was he my step grandpa he was a husband to my grandma, father, grandfather, great grandfather, and uncle. He was also a WWII Veteran.

At the cemetery they honored him with the 21 gun salute and a veteran burial (I’m sorry I don’t know the technical terms). Thankfully, at age 30, I have never had to see that in person before. I am just in awe of the respect that is shown to a fallen soldier and I am so thankful for that! I wish that everyone would show that same respect. I know that I don’t say it enough to our veterans and current soldiers but I am so thankful that they have gone before our country and have fought for our freedom, MY freedom.

I videotaped part of the ceremony and felt like I was being disrespectful, but I wanted to remember it forever! And I wanted to be able to come home and show my husband and daughter the way that they treat a soldier, no matter their age. He was 91 years old and was wounded in the war when he was 20. Seventy-one years later they still show the utmost respect to him. Seventy-one years.

Unfortunately in this country today there is too much selfishness. Too much of the “what’s in it for me” attitude. I’m guilty of it too, don’t get me wrong, but any and all soldiers who have fought so bravely for our freedom need to be shown respect, whether we like it or not! Whether we see the direct impact or not.  They have sacrificed so much, and many their lives, so I can, so YOU can, live in this country and have the many luxuries that we do.  Everyone is so caught up in the why should I have to do this and why should I have to do that because it inconveniences me but think about the sacrifice these soldiers make all. the. time.

I challenge you, next time you see a solider, thank them. Thank them for their service, thank them for their sacrifice, and thank them for their willingness to fight for the things in life that we so often take for granted.

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

