Be Still and Know

As we quickly approach the holiday season and probably one the busiest seasons of the year for many, I had to just step back and look around.  Look around at the God’s beauty that He created and that beauty that He so badly wants us to just bask in.

Last night I went to the annual ladies Christmas party at my mom and dad’s church and, once again, it was a night filled with beauty, singing, rekindling of relationships I haven’t seen since last year’s party, and of course, some tears.  And just a side note, why can’t I ever go out in public to one of these things and leave with a dry eye?  I just don’t think that’s possible.

The theme of the night was “Be still and know that I am God”.  Isn’t that the truth?  Be still.  Just be still.  Know that I am God.  KNOW that I am God.

How often during this season of hustle and bustle are we just still?  This time of the year brings heartache for many as their loved ones are no longer here to celebrate with them.  For many it brings joy and traveling and happiness and sadness and busyness.  It brings many emotions and conversations and programs and driving and flying and perhaps even some credit card debt.  (I hope not, but hey, it’s the truth, isn’t it?)

Last night the main speaker talked about how as women, we are constantly comparing ourselves to other women.  I think Christmas is a prime time for that to happen as we attend Christmas programs and so and so’s kid is dressed better than mine and her cookies turned out better than mine did for the cookie exchange (which is so the truth of mine for tonight!  Ladies, they don’t look pretty, but they taste good!  🙂 )  or they got that big gift for their child and we only got small things.  Stop comparing.

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:10

In the NASV it says “cease striving and know that I am God…”.

This Christmas season, I want to challenge you (and I want you to challenge me), to cease striving to be someone you’re not.  Be the woman who God created you to be.  Cease striving to fill voids in your life with material things.  Cease striving to fill your schedule so you can satisfy everyone on your “Christmas To Do/See” list.  Cease striving to constantly do.  Just BE.

Just be still.  Be still and know that HE is God.  Listen to His whispers.  He is waiting for you to be still and know.

In this busiest of seasons, don’t forget why we are in this season.  Why we celebrate.  Because God sent his son to be born to save us.

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

