Horrible Mom: Party of 1

Oh man.  I felt so incredibly bad when a friend text me after school yesterday and said that Little Miss was sad on the bus after school and thank goodness she text me and told me! At first I thought oh, I wonder what happened and then my heart sank and I knew I made a huge mistake.

Little Miss was supposed to go to dance with a friend after school for “bring a friend to dance class day” and I completely forgot to email her teacher and tell her.  Little Miss told me the night before “mom, write a note, just write a note”.  But did I?  No.  I assured her that emailing her teacher would be easier and I would just do that.  I remembered that morning while getting ready but when I got to work and got going on my day I completely spaced it until I got the text from my friend.

Of course I was crying in the office because I felt so awful and knew her little heart was just broken but after a reassuring snapchat from the DH (dear husband) with a smiling little girl, I knew she had already forgiven me.

Of course I had to use it as a teachable moment for myself so I figured I’d share it with you too…

This is how God’s forgiveness works.  If we repent of our sins and ask Him for forgiveness, He will forgive us and they will be removed as far as the east is from the west.

“For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him; 12 as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.  13 As a father shows compassion to his children, so the Lord shows compassion to those who fear Him.” Psalm 103:11-13

Sometimes I forget that the father has forgiven me of my sins and my actions.  The blood He shed on the cross has covered me.  Living a perfect life is impossible and chasing after perfection will be exhausting.  I need to work on living my life for Him and remember that His perfect blood was shed on the cross for me.

The story does have a happy ending.  The friend who text me ended up leaving work a few minutes early to get little miss off the bus and back to the school.  Thankfully she has a short bus ride and goes to daycare close to the school.  She got in about 15 minutes worth of dancing and was happy as ever when I got home from work.  She actually didn’t even mention that I forgot to send a note.  I think DH had diffused the situation and told her I felt really bad so all was good.

But it was a good reminder for me to remember that the Lord will forgive me just like she forgave me.  I’m so thankful for that!  I was so down and hard on myself and she was just like”what mom? I’m fine.” I kind of feel like that’s how God is too. Looks at us and just says, that was so yesterday, I’m over it and you have been made new in Me.

One thought on “Horrible Mom: Party of 1

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

