Many Parts, One Body

God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as He wanted them to be.  If they were all one part, where would the body be?  As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

1 Corinthians 12:18-20

Many parts but one body.  Parts of your body sometimes get hurt, are broken, or working perfectly. It really depends on the day-for me anyway!  Some days I just want to crawl into a hole and skip the day (thankfully those days are fewer and further between) and some days are good.

Thinking about all the different parts of a body makes me think of a church…when people go to a church there are multiple people who make that church.  Multiple parts of the church “body” that are there to make it work.  A church doesn’t run itself with the pastor, one head elder, or just one person; there are multiple people.  Those people are likely broken, hurt, or “working properly” just like our natural bodies.

So many times in the past I’ve gone to church and people ask “how are you?” and the all too common response is “good”, then reciprocated with “how are you?”  Been there done that, right?  I am thankful for a church where I can feel comfortable answering with an honest answer. I feel safe there and of any place that’s where we should feel safe, isn’t it?

I think so many times people think “I have too much ‘junk’ going on in my life to go to church.  They don’t want my ‘junk’ and they don’t care about it.”  You know what?  That “junk” is part of your story and we want to hear it!  We want to help.  We are all sinners, we’re all tangled up with the enemy’s lie that the church doesn’t want us.

Our Heavenly Father is here to make our story beautiful.  You just have to give Him a chance.  Remember that verse posted above?  YOU are part of that body, without you, the body of Christ is not complete.

A day or so after I read that devotion with the verse above in it I heard the song below on Pandora.  The two don’t go completely together at first but after I was thinking about it.  I thought, you know what, they do go together.  Because God wants us ALL to be part of the body of Christ whether we are broken or not.  He wants to take our brokenness and make it beautiful and He will.  Nothing is too big for Him…if you give Him a chance.   Let’s beat down those lies that the enemy is telling us and expand the body!

4 For just as we have many members in one body and all the members do not have the same function, 5 so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another.

Romans 12:4-5

I am a sinner.  You are a sinner.  We are covered by the blood of Jesus and He will take our brokenness and make it beautiful.

Here is the song that goes along with this post…

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

