Strong Enough

As I was on my way home tonight a song came on the radio that I hadn’t heard in awhile.  I’ve listened to it often during my own times of trial, sadness and difficulties and I just love the reminder that we’re not alone!

On February 9,  2014 I met a beautiful young woman who has an amazing amount of strength!  I feel like I have known her forever and like we’ve been friends for years.  We’ve laughed together and cried together and her family has been running a race no one should have to run. Today she found out that her dad’s cancer has spread throughout his body.  I cannot even fathom the emotions and feelings that went through their mind as the doctor told them this today.

So tonight when I heard this song on the radio I instantly thought of them and others who are hurting tonight.  How in the world can someone be strong enough to face sadness and sickness and pain alone?  Thankfully we don’t have to.  We do not have to face these things alone.  He is by our side, He is with us, He is strong when we are weak.  And when we are weak, that is when our strength becomes perfected.

In 2 Corithians it says

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.’

What does it mean “for when I am weak, then I am strong”?  It seems like when things are going smoothly we rely on our flesh for strength but when we are weak we can turn to Him to find strength and He gives us His divine strength to make it through the difficult circumstances.  Sometimes it may not seem like it but He is right there with us, holding us.

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

This family has done nothing but praise God through their storm and His plan for this will be known someday.  Seeing how they have stood strong in their faith through all of this is an awesome testament of their love for their Savior! They have already been glorifying God through it all and I can’t wait to see the blessings that will come to them.  His glory will be revealed.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.  Romans 8:18

Tonight I ask that you say a prayer for this family.  A prayer for strength as they face the coming days, a prayer for peace, and most of all a prayer for comfort.  I want so many prayers lifted for this family that they literally feel like a huge hug has surrounded them and no matter how difficult the next days get, they can’t get rid of this feeling of love, peace and comfort.

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

