Bring the Rain

As I was greeting for church Sunday morning I had my Pandora app playing so people could walk in to the Rec Center to music, not just the buzz of the florescent lights. I don’t really remember any of the other songs that were playing but one in particular stuck out to me and I’ve been singing it over and over in my head since.

It talks about how life will bring pain and sadness, but if that is what it takes to bring Him glory, it asks for Jesus to “Bring the Rain”. It just makes me think about the spring after a long winter where everything is dead and brown and dirty. That first spring rain – everything gets washed clean. The white salt stains slowly disappear with each drop. The sand and gravel rushes to the drain or ditch with the stream of water running off and pretty soon the grass starts to get a hint of green, the trees start to bud new life, and the little stems of the new flowers start to peek through the dirt. Everything has been washed clean, new life starts to form, and the ground becomes beautiful.

I kind of picture the storms of life doing the same thing if you seek and praise HIM through them. He will comfort you through those storms and bring you to a “new” life when that storm passes. Life may not be the same and that’s why I say new, but it’ll be good.  You will be more mature and complete. In James 1:2-4 it says:

“2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

When I read or thought of joy in the past I thought why in the world would I want to choose joy when…(insert sad situation here). But I love this definition of joy by Rick Warren: “Joy is the settled assurance that God is in control of all the details of my life, the quiet confidence that ultimately everything is going to be alright, and the determined choice to praise God in every situation.”  I love that.  A quiet confidence that eventually everything will be alright. Listen to Mercy Me’s Bring the Rain and remember that life will bring rain but He will provide refuge (Isaiah 4:6) as we go through the storms to bring Him glory.

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

