Clothing Piece #2

Hello!  I’ve been in quite the mood lately.  The mood to bake, clean, cook, try new recipes, sew, craft…basically anything that a stereotypical woman would do.  Wait, did I really just say clean??  Ok, maybe not in the mood to clean more so just get the house in order since it’s been too hot and humid to be outside!

Well, let’s get to the topic at hand!!  I’m so excited that I came across a great blog last week that has a super easy and fun tutorial on making a knit skirt!  Here is the link to the tutorial!  There are pictures and everything so if you’re like me and don’t like reading long, drawn out instructions, it’s PERFECT!

I made this long maxi skirt last summer and learned a few things so I thought this one looks easier yet so I figured I’d give it a try while I’m in this weird mood.  Here’s a link to the blog where I first saw this one!

Maxi Skirt

So here’s a shot of me wearing my new skirt yesterday after work!  Don’t mind my messy hair.  It’s about 92 Degrees and about 98% humidity right now. I keep reminding myself in less than three months it could be 30 below with a foot of snow on the ground, or more.

 short skirt

I put it on yesterday and K said “you’re so pretty, mommy” and when I told her I made the skirt she asked me to make one for her, too!  Thankfully I have a “pin” for that too and will tackle that one next, maybe this weekend!

The only bit of advice I’d give is don’t pick a super stretchy fabric to do your first piece with.  Mine was really stretchy so it was hard to get it lined up just right and keep the fabric in place while sewing.  It took quite a few pins and some patience but I survived.  Oh and it only cost me about $7.00 (!) plus I have some leftover fabric so technically it didn’t even cost me that much!

Until next time, thanks for reading and please feel free to comment and let me know if you have any questions while making YOUR skirt!

7 thoughts on “Clothing Piece #2

    1. Thank you! And thank you for the reblog! Being so new to blogging I’m not entirely sure what that means, but I think it’s a good thing! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

