Baby Shower Fun

Good morning and happy Tuesday!

I’ve been thinking about what I want to write my second blog post about. I’m still not sure but I’m just going to write and go with the flow. A few weeks ago I hosted a baby shower with a couple friends from our church. They were in charge of the food and I was in charge of the decorations and centerpieces. The couple decided Baby’s nursery was going to be cowboy themed so I knew I wanted to do something with bandanas, boots, and horse related things, as well as diaper cakes.  I had some help from Pinterest and Google searches but ended up sort of taking bits and pieces from the ideas and made it more my own.

I started out by purchasing a box of size 3 diapers and arranging them in an 8″ round cake pan; each one took about 18-20 diapers.  After they were arranged how I wanted them, I tied a piece of yarn around them to hold them in place before I took them out of the cake pan.  *Make sure you tie it tight so the diapers don’t fall apart when you take them out of the pan.*  I had some old jeans so I just ripped them into strips and tied that over the yarn to make a cute “wrap” for the diapers and then topped that with some Bandana patterned ribbon I bought at JoAnn Fabrics.  I also purchased some rope twine and braided that to put around the base of the cake.  Here is a picture of the almost finished product on my kitchen counter.

photo 1

I used my Silhouette Cameo A LOT and cut out 3D boxes with a pattern I created, a cowboy boot, and used the sketch pens to draw these cute little cows and horses.

photo 3photo 5

photo 1

My dear husband cleaned, welded, and painted a few horseshoes for me to use as “platters” for the diaper cakes.  I’m glad he’s so handy and knows how to do that stuff!

Here’s the final product and the centerpieces all put together.  I set them on top of pieces of scrapbook paper and burlap.  The other gals brought mason jars and those fun straws to set on the tables, too!

photo 4 photo 3 photo 2

So there you go!  Feel free to ask questions or leave comments if you’d like!

Or if you want me to make one for you let me know the theme you want and I’d be more than happy to get you a price quote!

I'd love to hear from you; please comment!

